Amy Witting Website

Established and maintained by Yvonne Miels


Amy Witting

Amy Witting is an Australian novelist and poet who began publishing her work late in life. To coincide with her 80th birthday her Collected Poems were released in 1998, and the sequel to her much-acclaimed novel I for Isobel, Isobel on the Way to the Corner Shop was released in June 1999. In 2000 short stories written over a span of nearly fifty years were published in the collection Faces and Voices. Her work is based on life experiences, from her childhood in Annandale, Sydney, to study at Sydney University in the 1930s; her teaching experiences in both city and country NSW and her work in retirement, teaching English to migrant women. Amy Witting died on 18 September 2001 and her final novel, After Cynthia, was published posthumously later that month.

Amy Witting’s work was recognised with the Patrick White Award in 1993.

Isobel on the Way to the Corner Shop won the 2000 The Age Book of the Year Award and Fiction Prize.
In 2002 Amy Witting was posthumously awarded an AM.

Resources available on this site


A comprehensive biography


A brief synopsis of Amy Witting's major works


A comprehensive list of Amy Witting's works

A list of secondary sources

About this site

© Copyright Yvonne Miels 2008